October 27, 2013

The Shadow Minister for Disability Reform, Jenny Macklin MP, has congratulated twelve individuals and


organisations recognised at the National Disability Awards in Canberra last night.

Now in their seventh year, the National Disability Awards celebrate the valuable contribution that individuals and organisations have made in improving the lives of people with disability in Australia.

“The twelve winners were chosen from an impressive field of nearly 200 nominations across nine categories,” Ms Macklin said.

“I congratulate all the winners and all the finalists who were honoured at the awards last night.”

Ms Macklin said the Awards came at a significant time for people with disability following the launch of the National Disability Insurance Scheme earlier this year.

“The NDIS would not exist today without the tireless advocacy of many of the people that were honored last night.

“I want to particularly note the achievements of the late Lesley Hall, who was awarded the Prime Minister’s Outstanding Achievement Award.

“Lesley dedicated her life to the advocacy of equal rights for people with disability, and played a vital role in helping to shape the NDIS as part of two expert groups set up to guide the Scheme’s development.

“I also want to congratulate Ann Procter, winner of the Lesley Hall Award for Lifetime Achievement in Disability.

“Ann was recognised for her forty years of activism and support for people with disability, highlighted by her outstanding dedication as founder of Advocacy for Inclusion and the ACT Disability Advisory Council.”

For more information on award winners and finalists, please visit:

The list of award winner is below:

Lesley Hall Award for Lifetime Achievement in Disability


Ms Ann Procter
(Duffy, ACT)



Mr John Moxon
(Northmead, NSW)



Emerging Leaders Award in Disability

Mr Huy Nguyen



Excellence in Accessible Communities

Western Desert Dialysis (Alice Springs, NT)



Excellence in Improving Social Participation Award

Penrith City Council (Penrith, NSW)



Excellence in Advocacy & Rights Promotion Award

Mr Robert Pask
(Bentleigh East, Vic)



Excellence in Improving Employment Opportunities


ABLE – Westpac Group Employee Action Group for Access Ability (National)




Excellence in Improving Personal & Community Support

Hear for You (National)



Excellence in Improving Education Outcomes Award

Down Syndrome Victoria (Fitzroy, Vic)



Excellence in Improving Health and Wellbeing Outcomes

Ms Susan Race
(St Albans, Vic)



Yooralla Media Award of Distinction

The Project, Network Ten (Victoria)



Prime Minister’s Outstanding Achievement Award


Ms Lesley Hall