November 26, 2015

Labor congratulates the winners of the 2015 National Disability Awards held at Parliament House in Canberra last night.

Among the winners was 14-year-old Connor McLeod who led a successful campaign to introduce tactile banknotes in Australia.

Connor’s campaign for tactile banknotes attracted the support of the Human Rights Commission, Vision Australia and almost 60,000 people who signed his online petition.

Keran Howe from Women with Disabilities Victoria was recognised with the Lesley Hall Award for Lifetime Achievement in Disability.

Keran is a truly inspirational woman who has devoted her life to advocating for and empowering women with a disability.

Congratulations to all of this year’s nominees, finalists and award recipients.

The National Disability Awards are one of the major events in the lead up to International Day of People with Disability on 3rd December 2015.

For further details on the winners visit:

Excellence in Advocacy

  • Julie Phillips
  • Karen Williams, Queensland Public Interest Law Clearing House

Excellence in Community Accessibility

  • Kidney Health Australia Big Red Kidney Bus
  • MJD Foundation Ltd.
  • Parks Victoria
  • My Choice Matters
  • Jessica May, Enabled Employment

Excellence in Choice and Control in Service Delivery

  • Mind Recovery College

Lesley Hall Award for Lifetime Achievement in Disability

  • Keran Howe

Emerging Leader in Disability Awareness

  • Kate Swaffer
  • Connor McLeod

Joint Ministers' Award in Inclusive Development

  • Alexandra Kay, Scope Global Pty Ltd

Excellence in Accessible Technology

  • Peter Ford

  • Royal Institute for Deaf and Blind Children


Download PDF